This is something I’ve been wanting to do for quiet a while, I’ve just had a hard time finding the proper colors.  I suppose it isn’t all that geeky either, but oh well!  I finally found the right colors (orange and maroon, DUH!) at a local place called Beadsburg.  It’s your typical beading place, but I didn’t even know it existed until recently.  Anyways, I knew that since it was near my school, they HAD to have our school colors and sure enough they did.  So here are some of the creations I’ve made with these awesome colors.

I got two sizes, an 11/0 and an 8/0, in both orange and maroon.  I figured I would find something to do with both sizes, and sure enough I have! The first thing I made was some twisted orange and maroon bobby pins.  They’re quick and easy to make and something I’d actually use.  I also gave a pair to my cousin since she wants to go to Tech (she’s only like 7 too!).

I also have some large bobby pins, they’re much bigger than these, that I plan on using some of the bigger beads to do twisted or single color pins, I just haven’t had the time to do it yet.

Next I made some of the covered bangles I’d done before.  I had thought about doing one, but alternating the orange and maroon, but I thought two bangles that would go together would just look better.

I think they turned out pretty cool looking, if I do say so myself.  I also used a clear cord to wrap the beads around the bangle so you can’t even seen it really.

The last thing I made is a orange and maroon wrapped twisted hair band.  I know I’ve mentioned before how I like to take kind of plain cheap things from the store and just make them so much cooler and prettier and this is one of them.  I used the clear cord again and wrapped orange and maroon beads around the hair band.

The hair band was a twisted criss-cross design, so I thought it’d be extra cool to have the different colors follow that.  This next picture is kind of blurry, but it gives a heads up view of the hair band.  The only problem I’ve had with the hair band is if it’s bumped, the beads can shift or spin around it, but it’s easy to just push them back into place.  They are secure to the hair band, but it was difficult to get it tight enough that they won’t shift since the top surface of the band, where the beads sit, wasn’t very flat.

So that’s it for today.  I’m still working on some other stuff, more hokie beads and more geeky beads!  So just stay tuned.  I’ve started classes so my free time has been cut dramatically.  If you’d like to purchase any of these items here, or anything else you’ve seen on the site, or you have a special request, please contact me!

